Complementary Organs


A commission shall be formed by the organ of the House and server a standing complementary. The composition and membership of a Commission shall be determined by the House at a Plenary Meeting in proportion to and with due consideration of the even distribution of the number of Members of each Faction, at the inception of the House membership and at the inception of the Session Year.


The number of commissions, commission counterparts and scope of duties of a commission is stipulated in a Decision of the House on the basis of government institutions, either the government departments or non departmental government institutions, and the secretariats of state institutions, by taking into account the effective performance of the House tasks.


With respect to legislation, a commission shall have the tasks to make preparations, Draft, discuss and improve any bill which are included in the scope of it task.


In the budgetary area, a Commission have tasks to: hold preliminary deliberations on the preparation of Draft State Budgets included in the scope of its tasks in conjunction with the Government: and hold deliberations on and submit motions for the improvement of Draft State Budgets included in the scope of its tasks in conjunction with the Government;


In the supervisory area, a commission shall have the tasks to: supervise the implementation of laws, including State Budget, and ancillary regulations; deliberate and follow up on the result of audits conducted by the Supreme Audit Agency relating to the scope of its tasks; supervise government policies; and deliberate and follow up on the motions presented by the Regional Representative Council.


In the performance of its tasks, the Commission may: hold Official Meeting with the President, who may be represented by a Government Minister; hold consultation with the Regional Representative Council; hold Hearings with Government officials who represent their respective government agencies; hold Public Hearings either at the request of the commission concerned or another party; and pay working visits and perform Working Visits during the Recess, or where deemed necessary, during the session period upon the consent of the Leadership of the House with the results being reported to a Commission Meeting for follow-up purposes.


The Counterparts


The House of Representatives of the Republic of Indonesia has 11 (eleven) Commissions with the scope of duties and counterpart of respective Commissions as the following :


Commission I (Defense, Foreign and Information Affairs)

Ministry of Defense, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the Indonesian National Military, State Minister for Communications and Information, National Defense Board (DKN), State Intelligence Agency (BIN), State Coding Institute (LEMSANEG), National Information Board (LIN), Antara National News Office, National Resilience Institute (LKN), Indonesian Broadcasting Commission (KPI).


Commission II (Home Affairs, Regional Autonomy, Administrative Reforms and Agrarian Affairs)

Ministry of Home Affairs, State Minister for Administrative Reforms, State Secretary, Cabinet Secretary, State Administration Board (LAIY), State Civil Servant Agency (BKN), National Land Agency (BPN), National Archives of the Republic of Indonesia (ANRI), General Elections Commission (KPU).


Commission III (Law and Legislation, Human Rights, and Security Affairs)

The Ministry of Justice and Human Rights, Supreme Court, national Police of the Republic of Indonesia, Commission for the Eradication of Corruption (KPK), National Ombudsman Commission, National Law Commission, National Commission of Human Rights (KOMNAS HAM), Secretary General of Supreme Court, Secretary General of Constitution Court, Secretary General of People's Consultative Assembly, Secretary General of Regional Representatives Council, Center for Financial Reporting and Transaction Analysis (PPATK), Agency for National Law Development (BPHN).


Commission IV (Agricultural, Plantations, Forestry, Maritime, Fisheries, and Food Affairs)

Ministry of Agriculture, Ministry of Forestry, Ministry of Maritime and Fisheries, State Logistic Agency (BULOG), National Maritimes Board.


Commission V (Communications, Telecommunications, Public Works, Public Housing Affairs, Acceleration of Development of Disadvantaged Regions)

Ministry of Public Works, Ministry of Communications, State Minister for Public Housing, State Minister for Accelerated Development of Disadvantaged Regions, Meteorology and Geophysics Agency (EFJG).


Commission VI (Trade, Industrial, Investment, Cooperatives and Small and Medium Scale Enterprises, and State-Owned Enterprises Affairs)

Ministry of Industry, Ministry of Trade, State Minister for Cooperatives and Small and Medium Scale Enterprises, State Minister for the Empowerment of State-owned Enterprises, Capital Investment Coordinating Board (BKPM), National Standardization Board (BSN), National Consumer Protection Agency (BPKN), Business Competition Supervisory Commission (KPPU).


Commission VII (Energy, Mineral Resources, Research and Technology, Environmental Affairs)

Ministry of-Energy and Mineral Resources, State Minister for the Environment, State Minister for Research and Technology, Agency for the Assessment and Application of Technology (BPPT), National Research Board, Indonesian Academy of Science (LIPI), Nuclear Power Institute (BATAN), Nuclear Power Supervisory Agency (BAPETAW), National Coordinating Agency for Surveys and Mapping (BAKOSURTANAL), National Aeronautics and Aerospace Institute (LAPAN), Supervisory Board for Oil and Gas Downstream Activities, Implementation Agency for Oil and Gas Upstream Activities Controlling.


Commission VIII (Religious, Social, and Women's Empowerment Affairs)

Ministry of Religious Affairs, Ministry of Social Serdeputy, State Minister for Women's Empowerment, Commission for Indonesian Children Protection (KPAI), Women National Commission.


Commission IX (Demography, Health, Manpower and Transmigration Affairs)

Ministry of Health, Ministry of Manpower and Transmigration, National Family Planning Board (BKKBN), Food and Drugs Supervisory Agency (BPOM).


Commission X (Education, Youth, Sport, Tourism, Arts and Culture Affairs)

Ministry of National Education, Minister of Culture and Tourism, State Minister for Youth and Sport, National Library, Development Agency for Culture and Tourism (BP BUDPAR).


Commission XI (Finance, National Development Planning Board, Banking and Non-Bank Financial Institutions Affairs)

Ministry of Finance, Bank Indonesia, State Minister for National Development Planning of the national development planning Non Bank Financial, Institutions, Agency for Finance and Development Supervision (BPKP), Central Statistics Bureau (BPS), Secretary General of State Audit Board of the Republic of Indonesia.